Info on 1000s of former homes

Sutton, Sussex

Up to 1834

The Sutton Gilbert Union was incorporated in 1791. Its member parishes were: Barlavington (from 1804), South Berstead (from 1792), Bignor, Burton, Bury, Clapham, Coates, Coldwaltham (1804-35), Duncton, Egdean (from 1792), Fittleworth (from 1804), Greatham (from 1804), Heyshott, Patching, Slindon (1792-1858), Sutton, Warningcamp. In 1791, the incorporation established a workhouse at Sutton End.

A house now known as Farriers on The Street in Heyshott is said to have once been the Heyshott parish workhouse.

Heyshott former parish workhouse, 2004.
© Peter Higginbotham.

After 1834

Because of its Gilbert Union status, Sutton was exempt from most of the provisions of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act. It continued in operation until 1869 when all remaining Gilbert Unions were abolished. Its member parishes were distributed between the East Preston, Petworth and Westhampnett Poor Law Unions.


Note: many repositories impose a closure period of up to 100 years for records identifying individuals.

  • West Sussex Record Office, County Hall, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 1RN. Only holdings are Guardians' minutes (1791-1826).

[Top of Page] [Unions List] [Unions Map] [Home Page]

300x250 Free trial