Ancestry UK

Poor Law Unions in Ireland

After 1838, workhouses in Ireland were administered by groups or unions of electoral divisions. This page gives a county-by-county guide to the unions in Ireland. (Where unions included divisions in more than one county, the one generally used in poor law records is given.)


Co. Galway
Ballinasloe, Clifden, Galway, Glenamaddy, Gort, Loughrea, Mountbellew, Oughterard, Portumna, Tuam
Co. Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, Manorhamilton, Mohill
Co. Mayo
Ballina, Ballinrobe, Belmullet, Castlebar, Claremorris, Killala, Newport, Swineford (Swinford), Westport
Co. Roscommon
Boyle, Castlerea, Roscommon, Strokestown
Co. Sligo
Dromore West, Sligo, Tubbercurry (Tobercurry)


Co. Carlow
Co. Dublin
Balrothery, Dublin North, Dublin South, Rathdown
Co. Kildare
Athy, Celbridge, Naas
Co. Kilkenny
Callan, Castlecomer, Kilkenny, Thomastown, Urlingford
Co. Leix (Laois, Queen's)
Abbeyleix, Donaghmore, Mountmellick
Co. Longford
Ballymahon, Granard, Longford
Co. Louth
Ardee, Drogheda, Dundalk
Co. Meath
Castletowndelvin, Dunshaughlin, Kells, Navan, Oldcastle, Trim
Co. Offaly (King's)
Edenderry, Parsonstown, Tullamore
Co. Westmeath
Athlone, Mullingar
Co. Wexford
Enniscorthy, Gorey, New Ross, Wexford
Co. Wicklow
Baltinglass, Rathdrum, Shillelagh


Co. Clare
Ballyvaughan, Corofin, Ennis, Ennistymon, Kildysart (Killadysert), Kilrush, Scariff, Tulla
Co. Cork
Bandon, Bantry, Castletownbere, Clonakilty, Cork, Dunmanway, Fermoy, Kanturk, Kinsale, Macroom, Mallow, Midleton, Millstreet, Mitchelstown, Schull (Skull), Skibbereen, Youghal
Co. Kerry
Cahirciveen, Dingle, Kenmare, Killarney, Listowel, Tralee
Co. Limerick
Croom, Glin, Kilmallock, Limerick, Newcastle, Rathkeale
Co. Tipperary
Borrisokane, Carrick-on-Suir, Cashel, Clogheen, Clonmel, Nenagh, Roscrea, Thurles, Tipperary
Co. Waterford
Dungarvan, Kilmacthomas, Lismore, Waterford


Co. Antrim
Antrim, Ballycastle, Ballymena, Ballymoney, Belfast, Larne, Lisburn
Co. Armagh
Armagh, Lurgan
Co. Cavan
Bailieborough, Bawnboy, Cavan, Cootehill
Co. Donegal
Ballyshannon, Donegal, Dunfanaghy, Glenties, Inishowen, Letterkenny, Milford, Stranorlar
Co. Down
Banbridge, Downpatrick, Kilkeel, Newry, Newtownards (Newtown Ards)
Co. Fermanagh
Enniskillen, Lisnaskea, Lowtherstown
Co. Londonderry
Coleraine, Londonderry, Magherafelt, Newtown Limavady
Co. Monaghan
Carrickmacross, Castleblayney (Castleblaney), Clones, Monaghan
Co. Tyrone
Castlederg (Castle Derg), Clogher, Cookstown, Dungannon, Gortin, Omagh, Strabane

[The Workhouse in Ireland] [English Unions] [Welsh Unions] [Scottish Poorhouses] [Union Maps] [Home Page]

Ancestry UK

* * * Amazon US For US readers Amazon US * * *